Challenge to my fellow bloggers – My list of songs that almost, but not quite make the top 15

April Wine – Nature of the Beast. I got this for Christmas 1981, on 8 track. I recently got back into collecting 8 tracks and found this one again. Rock on.

Dire Straits – Brothers In Arms. Such amazing guitar and vocals. Mark Knopfler is the bomb.

Tom Petty – Full Moon Fever. Some guys named Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Roy Orbison, and George Harrison are on this album. Whoever they are.

ZZ Top – Eliminator. They had more bluesy albums, but this one just hit home when I was watching videos on tv back in the 80’s. Catchy songs with great lyrics and musicianship. Just a fun album to listen to.

Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here. Everyone in the world loves Dark Side but I don’t find it as awesome as WYWH, The Wall, Animals etc. I could only pick one Floyd and it was real close between this and the Wall, but Wish You Were Here was my introduction, so I chose it.

Sex Pistols – Never Mind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols. This to me is punk. Ramones may have been first to tour and put out a record, but they seemed to be closer to rock/pop to me than punk. Punk was about giving the finger to the establishment and spitting on the crowd during a live show. Maybe getting in a fight. That was the Sex Pistols. To all the children of the 90’s that thought only grunge bands could resonate the feelings of youth angst, I suggest to give this album a spin.

U2 – Joshua Tree. No amount of pretentious asshole frontman blathering could sway me from not loving this album. Another argument for one of the best albums front to back.

Motley Crue – Shout At The Devil. This album was played on radio when they actually used to play metal bands. I had to have it the first time I heard it.

Steve Miller – Fly Like An Eagle. Most people have heard Steve Miller’s greatest hits. They assume he is a classic rock musician. What they don’t know is he has his roots in the blues and he may be a better guitar player than a singer. This album is more about the hits, but I suggest to go through his catalogue if you love the blues.

Quiet Riot – Metal Health. Kevin Dubrow sure could sing, and this album fit in perfectly with the hair metal of the day. it also still sounds good in 2015.

17 thoughts on “Challenge to my fellow bloggers – My list of songs that almost, but not quite make the top 15

Leave a Reply

