Happy 35th Anniversary Album Review: AC/DC – For Those About To Rock We Salute You (1981)

Today marks the 35th anniversary of this wonderful album. This was my first venture into vinyl. As a young lad, Christmas was a big deal. I knew AC/DC was coming out with an album just before Christmas and that was what I asked for. There were thousands of bands I could have chosen to be my first slab of brand new vinyl, but I chose this one. AC/DC were quickly becoming one of my favourite bands and I was hoping this new album would deliver.

Well Christmas day came and I ran downstairs and tore open the wrapping paper. YESSSSSSSS!!!!!! I had struck gold. Gold gatefold that is. A simple gold gatefold with a canon on front and the song titles on back. When I opened the gatefold I saw an amazing picture of the band during a live performance. Malcolm strumming and singing, Brian raising his fists in the air, Angus stepping and wailing, (Phil was obscured behind the drum kit) and for me the ultimate shot. Cliff Williams with the coolest head of hair in rock was shot in mid head bang and the hair is almost completely obscuring his face. I wanted to look like that.

I played that album non stop that day, much to my parents chagrin I’m sure. Back then I had no record player. I had to play it on my parents big old console stereo. I roughly peeled whatever country album happened to be on there off and gently lowered my prime slab of greatness down and dropped the needle. On first listen I was hooked. I bet I played that thing 10 times or more. Over and over. I loved it. LOVED IT. I still do.

There is no sense doing a song by song review, telling you how each song is incredibly awesome. Perhaps some lesser knows

For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) – We’ve all heard this song a million times. No need to say how awesome it is. Ok, just once. It’s awesome.

I Put The Finger On You – The guitar work is infectious to begin this song off, and the drumming crashes in and keeps pounding. Pound for pound Phil Rudd should be considered one of the best drummers in rock. Unfortunately his legacy is quite tarnished now, but strictly in terms of talent, he is one of the best in my eyes.

Let’s Get it Up – This song was obviously wrote about climbing a ladder. Anyone who says otherwise is crazy. Someone should have told the ladies in the video below to remove the heels and put on work boots. Oh well, live and learn.

Evil Walks – Brian’s growl mixes nicely with the boys on background here. Amazing drumming, infectious guitar, and booming bass round out the song. I love the background vocals in this one.

C.O.D. – Phil is the star for me here. His combination of ticking cymbals and pounding skins lure the listener in. The background chants are welcome on this one as well. They sort of remind me of a Kiss song. 2 minutes in the guitar work takes a wonderfully quiet tone that sounds just awesome too.

Night of The Long Knives – This song almost has a hair metal feel to it. I bet Quiet Riot, Ratt or Poison would have given anything to record a song as cool as this.

Spellbound – Quiet but wicked may be the best way to describe this one. More group chants here are a nice touch.

For those interested, here is the review from Rolling Stone Magazine from January 1982.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/albumreviews/for-those-about-to-rock-we-salute-you-19820121

When I met my wife in the early 90’s, this cassette tape was one she owned. We listened to it a ton in her car. I knew she was a keeper, and I have stuck with her ever since.

10/10 all day long, 365 days a year. Happy Anniversary For Those About To Rock. Hopefully I can celebrate with you for another 35.

 

10 thoughts on “Happy 35th Anniversary Album Review: AC/DC – For Those About To Rock We Salute You (1981)

  1. It’s amazing people somehow misinterpreted the lyrics, “Let’s get it up, right to the top,” it’s ladder safety people, no dawdling on the way up, safety first!
    I enjoy these reviews of beloved albums, and I think this year was a leap year, so a bonus 366th day of Rock this year!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 35 years. Damn.

    Also: “When I met my wife in the early 90’s, this cassette tape was one she owned. We listened to it a ton in her car. I knew she was a keeper, and I have stuck with her ever since.”

    Attaboy! 🙂 \m/ \m/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

