Top 10 Baseball Songs

The baseball playoffs are here and my Toronto Blue Jays are a wild card team. They have home field advantage in the wild card round, and they have the slugging power to beat any team in the league. Their defence can be scary though, so who knows? Anyway, here is my Top 10 songs with a baseball theme.

10) Enter Sandman – Not really a baseball song, per se, but it was the entrance song for possibly the best closing pitcher ever in baseball. I know that he played for the hated Yankees, but he was freaking awesome.

9) Ok Blue Jays – Not the best song ever, and it’s a total “homer” song in more ways than one, but I had to wash the thoughts of the Yankees out of my foggy, covid riddled brain.

8) Baseball Glove – Another not so great song, and it’s country at that. But Gord Bamford is Canadian and the sentiment of a little kid dreaming about a baseball glove seems to hit home. Plus any mention of Roy Halladay is a plus in my books.

7) Glory Days – The first verse of this song is a real account of Bruce Springsteen meeting his old high school baseball buddy years later.

6) The Greatest – Kenny Rogers and some of the greatest baseball players ever in the same video. Sign me up.

5) Catfish – Another Yankee song. Uggghhh.

4) Tessie – a Boston Red Sox song. Double uggghhh.

3) Centerfield – I just love John Fogerty’s voice.

2) Paradise By The Dashboard Light – A song about a different kind of home run.

1)Take Me Out To The Ballgame

15 thoughts on “Top 10 Baseball Songs

  1. muso2406 says:

    I appreciate your Red Sox aversion but “Tessie” is a great song. “Centerfield” is a good one too. I’m a big Springsteen fan but I dislike “Glory Days” so much I didn’t realize it had a baseball connection. And Warren Zevon has a song called “Bill Lee.” Somebody should set “Casey at the Bat” to music.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill Lee was on my longer list but I bumped it due to my Blue Jays songs.
      I’ve been watching a bunch of Warren Zevon on Letterman and I really miss him.
      Bill Lee seems like a cool guy. No bs about him. He spoke his mind and did not give a crap, even if it cost him his career.

      U hate Glory Days, while I hate Dancing In The Dark. That album would have been 10/10 if that turd had been flushed.

      Like

  2. Always loved John Fogerty’s “Centerfield” and Phil Rizzuto doing the play by play on “Paradise by the Dashboard Light” is brilliant. Of course, they still sing “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” at most stadiums. Great list but are there any songs for us Dodgers fans?

    Liked by 1 person

      • To answer your question, we must travel back to 1972. No eleven year old wants to root for a team who only wins one-third of their games, which the Phillies did that year. Why the Dodgers? Because they had a player named Jim Lefebvre playing for them and I was constantly asked if I was related to him. I Love LA is the best song for Dodgers fans.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Cool. That reason rings true to me as well. I cheer for the Miami Dolphins (2400 km away) because of 1 player. Dan Marino.

      Although as a Maple Leafs, Blue Jays, Tiger Cats (CFL) and Dolphins fan, I have cheered for my teams no matter how bad they are. Never jumped ship.

      I did like the attitude Tommy Lasorda had(he seemed like a jokester), and liked watching Fernando Valenzuela back in the day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember being in high school when Born In The USA came out.
    It was suddenly the in thing to be a Bruce “fan”.

    I remember a fellow long hair in the hallway wearing a Springsteen shirt (he had been a fan since he was a kid) and a poser(obvious new wave preppy kid who jumped on the bandwagon because it was the in thing to) said “nice shirt”.

    His reply “I’m wearing this shirt because I’m a huge Springsteen fan, not because it’s the in thing to do.”

    That guy earned lots of respect from me that day.

    As for Bruce (and a bunch of other bands that started in the 1970’s), music was changing in the early to mid 1980’s. MTV changed the way things were done.
    Record exec’s wanted the next hit, and 1970’s era bands had to change or get dropped by the labels. 3 minute radio friendly hits became the craze again and Born In The USA had those in spades.
    It made an already aging rocker relevent again to the teen and 20 something crowd.

    Like

Leave a comment